top of page

My First Patient Visit

Updated: Apr 16, 2021

A few weeks ago, my coursemate and I visited a patient in her own home. She is an elderly lady who lives on her own, and I would like to share some thoughts this experience has elicited from me.

To paint a clearer picture of this patient, she suffered from a stroke about three years ago that since left half of her body partially disabled. Initially, she lost motor control over both her left arm and leg, which rendered her wheelchair bound. However, within six months of physiotherapy, she had since been able to get back onto her own two feet, and move about with the aid of a walking stick. Unfortunately, her left arm is permanently disabled, and as she demonstrated to the both of us, is unable to grip onto any object at all. Two years ago, she was involved in yet another accident at Bon Accord Shopping Centre when she lost her balance and fell backwards onto the hard pavement, damaging her coccyx and fracturing the back of her skull.

Ever since that incident, she has shared with us the mental block she has yet to overcome in order to convince herself to walk out of her house unaccompanied. She confided in us that the accident had severely damaged her confidence, even though at the time, it didn’t register in her mind that the accident would manifest into something more intrinsic, and something more long-lasting. She said she did not immediately seek therapy, something she believed she should have done right in order to address the trauma she experienced that has negatively impacted her later days.

It dawned on me that there is little difference between myself and this lady sitting across the room. I completely understand why she no longer can muster the courage to step outside the door without reassurance that the same thing would not occur again. If I put myself into her shoes, I would be petrified, given the harrowing experience. Despite her age, her pride and dignity are parts of herself that she has fiercely guarded and protected her entire life. Hence, it is only natural for her to doubt her ability to stand on her own two feet and trust that she is able. Thankfully, she still goes out to do her shopping, accompanied by her cleaner who is also her friend.

As mentioned before, this lady lives on her own, and that in itself is no small feat, given her partial disability. She lamented the battle she had to fight to earn the right to her independence, as the initial plan by the health authorities was to put her in a care home where the food was as quoted ‘unfit for human consumption’. Insisting that she wanted to live in her own house, she eventually got her way. During our conversation, she shared with us her day-to-day routine, which may seem mundane to many, including myself, but is essentially her current life. It involves having two physiotherapists making a visit once a week to help her shower, and get dressed. I was fortunate enough that the day of our visit coincided with that of the physiotherapists, as I could witness how they interacted with the lady, and helped her wear her compression socks, as well as moisturise her back after the shower, for she was experiencing a terrible dry skin itch. I cannot imagine how frustrating it must be to not be able to scratch your own back when it is itchy! That would drive me nuts!

I presented the lady with a box of chocolates and a scented candle upon our arrival at her home, little gifts which I picked up that morning for her, as I wanted to put a smile on her face. I was a bit hesitant about how she would react to them as it did not occur to me that perhaps she has dietary restrictions, or she is not allowed to own a candle due to health and safety purposes, but all those doubts melted away when she exclaimed in delight and thanked me profusely for them. I was very glad that my little gift had elicited so much joy from her, and it reminded me of how touched I feel whenever people surprise me with kind deeds as such. No matter which phase of life I go through, I want to retain the part of myself that relishes in the little pleasures and victories in life. Also, I wish to emulate her spirit and wit, for I admire people who do not let the storms dampen their insistence on living their lives to the fullest. Despite her limited mobility, she still visits her son once a week, goes shopping for groceries and visits her friends.

Gaining an insight into the life of this lady has evoked a sense of pride within me for choosing to pursue a career in healthcare. I am very grateful for this opportunity to interact with a patient in her home, for it is a break from the usual cold and clinical setting I am accustomed to meeting patients in. It has allowed me to assess a patient’s wellbeing not only in terms of their diseases or disabilities, but also to ask simpler questions about how they are coping with their daily routines, and whether emotionally they are sound and at peace. I find that as a younger person, many of my peers do not actively reflect on their lifestyle choices, and choose to indulge in all the weird and wonderful distractions life has to offer, for it is all about living in the present and not having a care in the world as to what the consequences are. However, there will come a time, when we will be stripped of our youth, and our debilitating bodies will not be able to cope with anymore wild activities, and when that moment arrives, will we only then be shocked into reevaluating our lifestyles, and finally wake up to the harsh reality that nothing lasts forever? When confronted with that hard truth, I want to be ready, both physically and mentally.

154 views0 comments
bottom of page